Dieter Jaksch awarded with the 2018 Thomas Young Medal and Prize

for "his contributions to theoretical proposals enabling the study of non-equilibrium quantum many-body dynamics with unprecedented microscopic control in ultra-cold atoms, and establishing them as a quantum technologies platform".

Read more

Jean-Marc Triscone awarded a honorary doctorate

by the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)

Read more

Q-MAC News

Andrea Cavalleri receives Frank Isakson Prize

The Frank Isakson Prize of the Amercian Physical Society is awarded biennially for outstanding optical research, which leads to breakthroughs in the condensed matter sciences.


The prize citation quotes Andreas’s “pioneering contributions to the development and application of ultra-fast optical spectroscopy to condensed matter systems, which have led to insights provided into lattice dynamics, structural phase transitions, and the non-equilibrium control of solids”.


Andrea’s work involves a combination of intense TeraHertz pulses, used to manipulate the properties of solids, and femtosecond x-rays from Free Electron Lasers, to study the dynamics.

This was most vividly demonstrated in his studies of non-equilibrium superconductivity far above the thermodynamic transition temperature.

< Back