Q-MAC meetings in 2020/2021:

The Final International Symposium has been postponed until further notice.

Q-MAC regular meeting 2020 has been cancelled. 

Read more

Q-MAC Extension on the grounds of excellence

Q-MAC Project has been successfully extended for 1 year

Read more

Q-MAC News

Dieter Jaksch awarded with the 2018 Thomas Young Medal and Prize

Q-MAC Principal Investigator Prof. Dieter Jaksch has been awarded with the 2018 Thomas Young Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics (IOP) in recognition of “his contributions to theoretical proposals enabling the study of non-equilibrium quantum many-body dynamics with unprecedented microscopic control in ultra-cold atoms, and establishing them as a quantum technologies platform”.

Prof. Jaksch, says the IOP, is "a world leader in developing proposals for dynamically engineering non-equilibrium quantum matter by optical control” and "his work bridges the customary confines of quantum optics and condensed matter physics, enabling cross-fertilisation between these two distinct fields."

Dieter Jaksch is a Professor of Physics at the University of Oxford, where he leads the Theory Group, a Keble Tutorial Fellow and one of the four leading Principal Investigators of the ERC Synergy Grant research project Frontiers in Quantum Materials' Control (Q-MAC).

The Thomas Young Medal and Prize is a prestigious medal named after the 19th century polymath Thomas Young and is awarded every two years by the Institute of Physics (IOP) to distinguished researchers in the field of optics, including work related to physics outside the visible region. Past recipients include Nobel laureates Dennis Gabor and Claude Cohen-Tannoudji as well as Sir Peter Knight, former president of the IOP.


More information about the award and Professor Jaksch’s work is available on the Institute of Physics website.

< Back