Jean-Marc Triscone awarded a honorary doctorate

by the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)

Read more

next Q-MAC meetings in 2018:

3rd Q-MAC symposium in Venice, May 22-25, 2018.

Next regular meeting in Paris, November 27-28, 2018.

Read more

Events & Communication





10 years of ERC funded research: Grantees celebrate in Hamburg

Hamburg's ERC Grantees were invited to join the celebration of 10 years of European Research Council. The event took place on June 19, 2017, in the Hamburg town hall.




The second International Q-MAC Symposium

took take place at the Venice International University in San Servolo, Venice, Italy,

from November 1 to November 4, 2016

please find the PROGRAM here





The first International Q-MAC Symposium

took take place at the Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL) in Hamburg

on February 5 and 6, 2015



6th MaNEP Winter School

18-23 January 2015 in Saas-Fee, Switzerland

Shedding light on correlated electrons




& Awards...


Roman Mankowsky, post-doctoral fellow at the MPSD, is awarded the Reimar Lüst Grant of the Max Planck Society. Roman received his PhD on his highly recognized studies of Nonlinear phononics and structural control of strongly correlated materials which are directly connected to the Q-MAC project.



Marta Gibert received a SNSF Professorship grant for her project on Functional oxide heterostructures by design.

At the moment, she is a senior scientist at Jean-Marc Triscone's group in Geneva, and will be appointed as professor at the University of Zürich.



Dannie-Heineman Prize awarded to Andrea Cavalleri for his time-resolved measurements of light-induced phase transitions in highly correlated electron systems. The prize is awarded by the Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

Max Born Prize awarded to Andrea Cavalleri for his work on time resolved measurements of photoinduced phase transitions in electronically correlated materials. The Max Born Price is awarded by the German Physical Society (DPG) and the British Institute of Physics (IOP). The award ceremony will take place in March 2015 at the annual DPG conference in Berlin.



Miller Research Fellowship

was awarded to Cassandra Hunt at the Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter for her post-doctoral stay in Berkeley.



Professorship for Q-MAC member Stefan Kaiser

Stefan Kaiser was appointed to a joint junior professorship between the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research and the University of Stuttgart.



Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics 2014 awarded to Antoine Georges for his work in the field of theoretical solid state physics.

The prize is jointly awarded by the Joachim Herz Stiftung and CUI (the Hamburg Centre for Ultrafast Imaging). The awards ceremony took place during the annual CUI Symposium in Hamburg between November 12 and 14, 2014.



Europhysics prize 2014 awarded to Jean-Marc Triscone for the discovery and investigation of electron liquids at oxide interfaces.

This Europhysics prize by the European Physical Society Condensed Matter Division is one of Europe’s most significant distinction in the field of condensed matter physics.



"Scholarship of Excellence" awarded to Marta Gibert for the excellence of her scientific work and research on Interface engineering of nickelate heterostructures.



Jennifer Fowlie won the Swiss FameLab competition 2014.

She represented Switzerland for the International Finals at the Cheltenham Science Festival.





... & press releases


ERC announces the winners of its first competition for the Synergy Grants


CFEL press release on Q-MAC Synergy Grant


École Polytechnique notice on Q-MAC Synergy Grant


ERC Synergy Grants in general